Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ordering JDM Diesels?

OLC Member

Default Ordering JDM Diesels?

I'm doing a bit of a rebuild on it anyway and planning to use it for overlanding after the tacoma(its going to be a long slow build). The only issue is, the engine in it is a little 2.3L 4cyl which is alright for just putting around town and getting parts but is terrible for offroad with the fact it has no torque. So I was thinking how cool it would be to drop a Toyota(or other?) diesel in it. A very basic mechanical diesel motor with a solid manual transmission would be amazing.

I'd probably build the rear as a flatbed with some sort of cargo solution back there similar to the way the aussies do it. I'm a decent welder and I can weld aluminum so I could build myself a little cargo/camp bed back there.

I feel like this is the best idea personally as it means I can keep it parked and working perfectly for the trips and not need to worry about the Taco since I put alot of km on it daily driving then its wearing out things that are obviously vital when overlanding.

So, Suggestions on which motor? Where to import them and maybe additional info on drivetrain to consider.

By the way the ranger is very mild, Dana 30 front, 31" tires. May consider 33s but I dont feel they're all that required.
    Last edited by Smoke; 11-18-2015 at 03:37 PM.

OLC Member

A lot of the Toyota and Mitsubishi motors haven't impressed me with reliability. If it were me I'd shoot for a more industrial based motor from a fuso or similar one ton truck

OLC Member

Really eh? I was always told the Toyota diesels in the land cruisers over in Australia are bullet proof and super simple. Thats why I was thinking ordering through one of those JDM import companies when the time comes. I'm still a ways away anyway.

OLC Member